The Janna Mysteries are now out of print.

A new version of this highly acclaimed and award-winning medieval murder mystery series has been rewritten with an adult fiction market in mind, and The Janna Chronicles will be published and released by Momentum Books Australia, one every month, as from mid-January 2015. For more information, please go to separate pages for each title:

  1. Blood Oath
  2. Stolen Child
  3. Unholy Murder
  4. Pilgrim of Death
  5. Devil’s Brew
  6. Day of Judgment

Please note that the series will still be suitable for a YA readership.

Willows For Weeping Information

Spies, treachery, a dangerously attractive pilgrim and a murder at Stonehenge test Janna’s courageJanna Mysteries Book 4 – Willows for Weeping and ingenuity to the limit as she continues the search for her father in the company of pilgrims and jongleurs. She learns the meaning of betrayal, treachery and heartbreak, while her quest brings her ever closer to the royal court and the dangers of the civil war between King Stephen and the Empress Matilda.

Willows For Weeping won the Biennial Book Award, Society of Women Writers, 2009.

The Janna Mysteries are listed on the Victorian Premier’s Reading Challenge.

Watch a Video advertising the Jana Mysteries Series

Read the ‘Janna Mysteries’ reviews

Teachers: Discover how you can match my novels to the English and/or History curriculum. You’ll find a comprehensive description of themes, topics for discussion, class activities and associated articles of interest for all my books on the For Teachers page.

“My research for Willows took me to Stonehenge. I was there in June, in time for the festival for the summer solstice. This is celebrated by thousands of people every year. They camp out under the stars and watch the first rays of sunlight shine down ‘the Avenue’ to the Heel Stone and into the heart of the stone circle.

I also spent several weeks in Winchester, one of my favourite places. I used to walk beside the River Itchen and watch the swans, just as Janna does almost a thousand years ago in my novel. I stayed at a B & B which looked down onto the ruins of Wolvesey Palace, which was the bishop’s stronghold during the civil war.

I wandered among the ruins hoping the stones would speak to me – but they stayed obstinately silent! So what I’ve written comes either from my imagination or from the old chronicles I use as a reference base: the Gesta Stephani (Life of Stephen, author unknown) and William of Malmesbury’s Historia Novella.

The authors were eye-witnesses to what was going on at that time. I just wish they’d thought to write their accounts in a bit more detail! It would have made my task so much easier and I could also be sure that what I was writing was absolutely accurate”.

Laurine Croasdale launches Willows for Weeping at the SCBWI conference. (Photograph taken by Bob Holm)
Flick talks about Stonehenge and the inspiration for her new book (Photograph taken by Bob Holm)
Zoe Walton from Random House introduces the new-look Janna Mysteries
Laurine Croasdale shares a joke with Flick while launching Willows for Weeping
Laurine Croasdale launches Willows for Weeping at the SCBWI conference

Other books in the series:

  • Rosemary For Remembrance – Janna lives at the edge of a forest in medieval England. Her whole world turns upside down following the death of her mother.
  • Rue For Repentance – Driven from her home and disguised as a youth, Janna seeks refuge at a manor farm only to find her heart and her safety under threat following a series of ‘accidents’.
  • Lilies For Love – Lilies for Love. On the run and in fear of her life, Janna seeks refuge at Wiltune Abbey. But love, danger and mysteries follow close behind. What secret does her father’s letter hold, if only she can learn how to read it? Can the mysterious stranger asking questions about Janna be linked to the stabbing of the lord Hugh at St Edith’s fair? Who is destroying a precious manuscript, and what is the significance of the lilies left at the saint’s shrine? A chance meeting with the Empress Matilda helps to secure Janna’s loyalty to her cause – with grave consequences for Janna’s future.
  • Sage For Sanctuary – 1141 AD, and Winchestre is ablaze in the bitter civil war between King Stephen and the Empress Matilda. The mystery of Janna’s birth and her mother’s death have put her own life (and her heart) in danger. Proof of her identity is lost when her purse is stolen; she must work as a lowly drudge in a tavern to support herself while she tries to locate her unknown father. When sabotage threatens the tavern’s future, Janna has another mystery to solve and a decision to make that will jeopardise her relationship with everyone she loves and values.
  • Thyme For Trust – Janna’s happiness at finding her father soon turns to dismay as she comes to realise the threat she poses to his family. Fearing for her life, Janna accompanies him to Oxeneford where the empress is under siege from King Stephen, but her desire to act and to follow her heart puts Janna at odds with her father who is anxious to negotiate her marriage with the king’s favourite. When the man she truly loves is accused of murder, Janna has one more mystery to solve, until the siege of Wiltune turns her life upside down and changes everything.
Mysterious Stonehenge is this an ancient solar (or lunar) "calendar"? Did the magician Merlin really magic these stones across from Ireland to form "the Giants' Dance"?
Swans on the River Itchen, Winchester.
Ruins of Wolvesey Palace in Winchester, stronghold of Henry, Bishop of Winchester and brother of King Stephen.